.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Saturday, November 11, 2006

Ramanujan Prize 2006

Indian Mathematician R Sujatha of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai has been awarded the Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize for Mathematics for 2006. Presented for the second time, the prize carries a $10,000 cash award honouring the outstanding research of mathematical scientists in developing countries.

By giving her the honor, the Ramanujan jury recognises Sujatha's work on the arithmetic of algebraic varieties and her substantial contributions to the Iwasawa theory. She formulated a non-commutative version of the theory's main conjecture in cooperation with several colleagues. This innovation drives much of the current work in this particular mathematical subject.

R Sujatha, aged 44, received all her university education in India and has been with the TIFR since 1985, where she is currently an associate professor in the School of Mathematics. She received her PhD at the University of Mumbai in 1991.

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) founded the Ramanujan Prize in 2005 to annually support a scientist younger than 45 years in any mathematical branch from a developing country. In addition to the cash award, the prize winner will be invited to an ICTP meeting to deliver a lecture. The award ceremony will take place on December 18 in Trieste, Italy.

The Ramanujan Prize is supported by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters through the Abel Fund, with the cooperation of the International Mathematical Union.



Post a Comment

<< Home